A Plea for Forgiveness

Tall and hefty

Broad and kind you grew

When the Autumn devours you – every day

I watered twice

In full bloom you rise

How sweetly you nod – when I whisper my secrets!!!

How blissfully I ruminate in your shade!!

It’s painful and cruel

When you are amputated

Dumb as a stone I see you

“Pruned” as they say….

When the branch fell with a thud – and

You posed like an arm less giant…

Out of nowhere nervously chirped a birdie

Lost her thorny nest

Not for the first time….

She cries aloud

Counting the cracked eggs

Just as before..

She knows not the future

Will she have chicks to teach them fly??

Or she should build mobile nests in the sky???

You weep quietly …

I,

the rightful owner with no rights

to stop the sharp blows of EB wiremen,

Stand helplessly.

Part of me rots with your severed limb

Where I once swung and climbed

With merry cherry-red ants…

With cracked heart

I planted another

Miniature Giant….

Jane Rajesh

2 thoughts on “A Plea for Forgiveness

Leave a comment